Introducing MoJoNewsBot – helping build a social, data driven, virtual newsroom

Posted: September 23, 2011 in Data Journalism, My Data Journey
Tags: , , ,

Things have been quiet on the blog front and I apologize. What began as a tumultuous year with a big risk on my part has become even more turbulent. Happily with opportunities rather than uncertainties. Trips to Germany and the US have landed in my lap. Both hugely challenging and exciting.

I completed the Knight Mozilla Learning Lab successfully and have been invited to Berlin for the MoJoHackfest next week. I’m really looking forward to meeting all the participants and getting some in depth hands-on experience of creating applications built around a better news flow.

This is a level between the hack days ScraperWiki ran and the ScraperWiki platform development itself (I don’t play a part in this but work closely with those who do), which is more akin to the development newsroom.

My pitch for the Learning Lab, Big Picture, is asking a lot of developers coming with their own great ideas and prototypes. I would love to get some of the functionality working but that very much depends on the goodwill, skills and availability of a small group of relative strangers.

I have a tendency to bite off more than I can chew and ask a lot of people who have no vested interests in my development. I am acutely aware that I cannot build any part of the Big Picture project. That being said I have built a new project that can be added to with a basic knowledge of Python. I give you MoJoNewsBot:

If you want to know more about how the Special Advisers’ query was done read my ScraperWiki blog post. Also, I fixed the bug in the Goolge News search so the links match the headline.

Come October I will be heading to the US to help fulfill part of ScraperWiki’s obligations to the Knight News Challenge. I am honoured to be one of ScraperWiki’s first full-time employees and actually get paid to further the field of data journalism!

Being part of a startup has its risks. No one’s role is every fully defined. This really is a huge experiment and I’m not sure I can even describe what it is I am doing. I am not a noun, however. I am a verb. My definition is in my functionality and defining this through ScraperWiki, MoJo and any other opportunities that come my way will be the basis of this blog from now on. So my posts will be sporadic but I hope you look forward to them.

Comments
  1. Love the mirrored, cross-Atlantic progress of our respective data startups (and hilariously similar careers within them).

    Lotsa love from The Great White North (where it was like 25 degrees C out yesterday :P )

    M

  2. […] of my MozNewsLab pitch, the Big Picture, to be built in 4 days and so I made a little side project, MoJoNewsBot. On the third day of the hackathon I presented my data stream connected chat bot via the Big […]

  3. […] I have used the web to test my seed idea by finding organisations like HacksHackers and attending conferences like NewsRewired. I have used this blog and my journey to seek validation. I have acted to develop my business acumen, creating point stories, Twitter accounts and bots. […]

Leave a Reply

