New Year, New Site, New OpenNews!

Posted: January 23, 2012 in My Data Journey
Tags: , , , ,

If you don’t already know, this year brings a fresh new challenge to a journo-coder wannabe who calls herself DataMinerUK. I am a Knight-Mozilla fellow at the Guardian and am looking to learn to code and make news in the open. As such I have moved this blog to a self hosted website: http://datamineruk.com/ where I can embed iframes.

It is long overdue and although I found managing a blog much easier, my goal to build news using open frameworks means I need a proper platform. It should look and feel pretty much the same. I’m not looking to become a hot shot developer and build an entire content management system (which the Guardian has done) but to work on content. Let’s use digital tool to find the message as well as build the medium.

My focus is on content. I’d describe myself more as a journalist than a coder. But with a lot of help from the Interactives team at the Guardian and my fellow fellows, I can harness the power of open source, open journalism and open news to be you content in weird and wonderful ways. What they’ll be is anyones guess, yours as well as mine.

So stay tuned!

Comments
  1. This a data junky dream blog tysvm! feed added to Reader;)

Leave a Reply

