Hacks/Hackers London

Posted: August 17, 2010 in Events
Tags: , ,

Who?

Hacks/Hackers London meetup

What?

Pub social and networking event for those who are working to help people make sense of their world. It’s for hackers exploring technologies to filter and visualize information, and for journalists who use technology to find and tell stories. In the age of information overload, all their work has become even more crucial.

When?

Wednesday, August 18 at 07:00 PM

Where?

125-129 Middlesex St
London E1 7JF
020 7929 6818

Why?

Because the conversations will range across topics like:

Learning how to code: how to start out if you’re interested

Gathering data: ‘I have an idea for the data I’d like to collect. Where do I go from here?’

Data visualization: how do I visualize my data? What tools are there? Which one will suit my project best?

Resources: which communities should I be joining to follow these issues? Where do I find them?

Inspiration: what are some examples of data projects which have worked well? Not so well? What can I learn from them?

REVIEW:

Great to see so many people there and from very interesting places. There were a lot of  Telegraph people, Guardian and Times. Everyone was really nice and helpful, especially after a couple of beers. There was even someone from a strange new social network betting venture although I think he could have made a bet on how many people he knew would be there. The hackers have some real expertise that should be extracted and injected into journalists. One person I met spoke 7 computer languages and was working with computers since he was six! He gave me some tips on installing MySQL and using freeware, especially with Google. Will have to give them a try and post reviews. A bit hung over at the moment so may be a while…

There was a suggestion box so I’m expecting big things from the London chapter of Hacks/Hackers.

Leave a Reply

